Safety culture consists of five elements: - An informed cult...

Safety culture consists of five elements:

  • An informed culture
  • A reporting culture
  • A learning culture
  • A just culture
  • A flexible culture

In an informed culture, the organization collects and analyses relevant data, and actively disseminates safety information.

A reporting culture means cultivating an atmosphere where people have confidence to report safety concerns without fear of blame. Employees must know that confidentiality will be maintained and that the information they submit will be acted upon, otherwise they will decide that there is no benefit in their reporting.

A learning culture means that an organization is able to learn from its mistakes and make changes. It will also ensure that people understand the SMS processes at a personal level.

In a just culture, errors and unsafe acts will not be punished if the error was unintentional. However, those who act recklessly or take deliberate and unjustifiable risks will still be subject to disciplinary action.

A flexible culture is one where the organization and the people in it are capable of adapting effectively to changing demands.

Found this while reading up on Boeing’s safety issues in recent months. This is the guidance from the FAA.